Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Alumna See Liv’s Story
Students See Their Story
Faculty See their Story
Faculty See Dr. Coleman’s Story


Want to help the Schieffer College foster an atmosphere of inclusivity? The Schieffer College Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee is expanding to include three student representatives. Two undergraduates and one graduate student will be selected by the committee to serve a two-semester term, that starts in Fall 2024 and concludes in Spring 2025.

The students represent their Schieffer peers and aid in identifying and/or presenting programming that will help create and sustain a climate of inclusivity in the College of Communication. Students attend monthly one-hour DEI meetings during the fall and spring semesters. Total time commitment is about 12 hours per semester, including the meetings.

To be considered for membership on the committee, apply by noon Monday, April 8.

Apply to DEI Committee


The faculty of the Bob Schieffer College of Communication are committed to diversity, equity and inclusion programming, curriculum, and research in the following ways, to:

  • Elevate faculty research in DEI
  • Showcase curriculum in DEI
  • Support, train and foster continued discussion about the new DEI overlay for the TCU Core Curriculum and about ways the Schieffer College may support that overlay
  • Recognize students pursuing DEI research as part of the college’s research festival, with the first award made in spring 2019
  • Highlight and increase interdisciplinary participation and support for the Department of Women & Gender Studies, Department of Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies, and the John V. Roach Honors College
  • Participate in faculty training for DEI for curriculum, searches and other programming
  • Find better and more ways to mentor and support students of color, LGBTQ students, students with disabilities, and others who may stand outside the predominant power circle at TCU

Suggestions, questions, or comments? Please contact the college’s diversity advocate, Ashley English, at A.English@tcu.edu. To find out more about inclusion at TCU, please visit inclusion.tcu.edu.

Our current committee members are:

  • Ashley English (College advocate)
  • Julie O’Neil (Ex-Officio)
  • Timothy Betts (A) 2022-2025
  • Tae Rang Choi (A) 2021-2024
  • Jaime Loke (A) 2022-2025
  • Janice McCall (A) 2022-2025
  • Charity Robinson (A) 2020-2023 (chair)
  • Logan Gibbs, Communication Studies graduate student
  • Leanna Contreras, Strategic Communication undergraduate student
  • Haylee Chiariello, Journalism, and Native American Expressions and Dance undergraduate student

“Each of us in the Bob Schieffer College of Communication is a unique individual worthy of respect and dignity as we teach and learn, and all of us will benefit from the creation of a college culture that supports us all. In our college, we focus on communicating effectively and ethically in the 21st century’s global context. Therefore, we must create and sustain a culture that welcomes students, faculty and staff who bring to our college diversity in age, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, physical ability, sexual identity, socioeconomic class, cultural heritage, language or points of view.”


Kristie Bunton, Ph.D.
Dean of the Bob Schieffer College of Communication
Texas Christian University