Daxton “Chip” Stewart

MOUS 207

d.stewart@tcu.edu | 817-257-5911


Ph.D., University of Missouri
LL.M., University of Missouri School of Law
M.A., University of Missouri
J.D., University of Texas School of Law
B.A., Southern Methodist University
B.A., Southern Methodist University

Courses Taught

JOUR 10203 - Introduction to Journalism
JOUR 30003 - Honors Seminar
JOUR 40523 - Law and Ethics of Mass Communication

Areas of Focus

Dr. Stewart’s areas of expertise include media law and communication technology, the First Amendment, freedom of information and public records laws, and social media.

  • Social Media and the Law: A Guidebook for Communication Students and Professionals
  • The Law of Public Communication
  • Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
  • Communication Law and Policy
  • The Journal of Dispute Resolution
  • American Journalism
  • Journal on Telecommunications and High Technology Law
  • South by Southwest Interactive

Dr. Stewart has served as the editor-in-chief of Dispute Resolution Magazine, a city editor and columnist at the Columbia Missourian, and an attorney in Missouri and Texas.

  • Top Faculty Paper Award in the Law & Policy Division of AEJMC
  • Nominated for the Dean’s Research Award at TCU in 2011 and 2016
  • AEJMC Presidential Citation for outstanding service as head of the Law & Policy Division
  • First place in AEJMC Law & Policy Division Teaching Ideas competition
  • Third Place Faculty Paper in the Communication Technology Division of AEJMC
  • Second Place Faculty Paper Award in the Law & Policy Division.
  • AEJMC, head of the Law and Policy Division 2014-15.
  • Founding editor of Community Journalism, an online, open access, peer-reviewed journal.
  • Kappa Tau Alpha, faculty advisor 2008-15
  • Online News Association