STCO Professors Win Top Paper Awards at International PR Conference

The International Public Relations Research Conference which will take place March 8-12 in Orlando posted Top Paper awards late last week. Two professors in the Strategic Communication department have won awards for their submissions.

Dr. Julie O’Neil, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies for Strategic Communication

“A Delphi Study to Identify Standards for Internal Communication,” Julie O’Neil | Texas Christian University, Michele Ewing | Kent State University, Stacey Smith | Jackson, Jackson & Wagner, and Sean Williams | Communication AMMO

IPR W. Ward White Awards for Top Three Papers of Practical Significance at IPRRC: These awards are presented to the top three papers of practical significance submitted to the International Public Relations Research Conference (IPRRC). The papers should demonstrate immediate transference and real-world implications for public relations practitioners or the industry. Each winning paper will be awarded $1,000. This competition is open to all papers that submit to any of the IPRRC awards with no restrictions regarding authorship.


Dr. Liang “Lindsay” Ma, Assistant Professor of Strategic Communication

“When Love Becomes Hate: The Dark Side of Consumer-Brand Relationships in Crisis Communication,” Liang (Lindsay) Ma, Texas Christian University

Red Raider Public Relations Research Award: This $1,000 award is for the best paper that uses quantitative approach, innovative methodologies and bridges academic and practical research. This competition is open with no restrictions regarding authorship. The award check will be presented to the first author, who may distribute the funds as he/she sees fit. A committee formed by the Texas Tech Department of Public Relations faculty will judge the papers and make the selection of the award recipient. Papers written by Texas Tech students are not eligible for the award.