Student Journalists and News Operations Staffs Win 32 Awards at TIPA Convention

Student journalists from TCU 360’s news operations have won 32 awards, including nine first-place awards, from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association, the nation’s oldest and largest student media organization. The awards included individuals and staffs for the TCU 360 news website, Image Magazine, The Skiffx360 newspaper, and the TCU Sports Now and TCU News Now television broadcasts.

The awards were announced on Saturday, April 3, at the annual TIPA Convention in Dallas. TCU Sports Now was named top sportscast, Image magazine won in overall excellence for general magazines, and 24 student journalists won or shared awards in individual categories.

The award winners include:


Janette Quezada,

Mario Montalvo, and Samantha Calimbahin                  1st place, Documentary

Sarah Breuner                                                                         1st place, Audition Tape

TCU Sports Now Staff                                                          1st place, Sportscast

Kylie Walker                                                                             1st Place, News Feature Story

Samantha Calimbahin                                                          1st place, Sports Non-Feature Story

Kylie Walker                                                                             2nd place,  Audition Tape

Kylie Walker                                                                             2nd place, Sports Non-Feature Story

TCU Sports Now Staff                                                           2nd place, Sportscast

Hannah Kuhns, Evan Folan, Tyler Shahin                          2nd place, Public Affairs Program 

Kylie Walker                                                                              3rd place, News Non-Feature Story

Taylor Williams, Hannah Johannes, Hayes Clement,      3rd Place, Documentary.

TCU News Now Staff                                                              HM, Best Newscast

Lena Blietz, Shannon McLaughlin, Jordan Ray                  HM, Public Affairs Program

Newspaper Division I:

Brad Hardcastle                                                                         1st place, Sports News Story

Adam Kelley                                                                               2nd Place, News Story

Donald Griffin                                                                            2nd place, Illustration

Staff                                                                                             3rd place, Editorial

Tori Whitley                                                                                3rd place, Feature Story

Dean Straka                                                                                3rd place, Sports Column

Jocelyn Sitton, Dean Straka                                                    3rd place Information, Graphic

Jocelyn Sitton                                                                             HM, Sports Page Design

Brad Hardcastle                                                                          HM,  Sports Feature Story

General Magazine

Staff, Image                                                                             1st place, Overall Excellence

Rachel Tiede                                                                           3rd place, Feature Story

Kaitlin Helm                                                                            HM, General news photo

Staff                                                                                          HM, Story Package

Mario Montalvo                                                                      HM, News Feature Story


Brad Hardcastle                                                                     1st place Best Multimedia package

TCU 360 Staff                                                                       1st Best Interactivity

Hannah Kirkpatrick                                                               2nd place Best Video Package

TCU 360 Staff                                                                       2nd place Website Navigation

Shelby Whitson                                                                     3rd place Best Multimedia Package