Schieffer Students Place at Statewide Journalism Awards

Five journalism students and one reporting class project placed at the Texas Association of Managing Editors annual Headliner Awards this weekend. The Texas Associated Press Managing Editors along with the Headliners Foundation of Texas recognizes outstanding journalism annually. Newspaper organizations from across the state, as well as college and university publications compete in up to 29 categories.

Haeven Gibbons, Katherine Lester, Kyla Vogel, Lonyae Coulter, Colin Post, and the spring 2021 Reporting class all won for work published on

A group of young and older people smile at the camera, standing in front of a neon purple horned frog sign.

Board members of Texas Association of Managing Editors visited the Student Media newsroom and met with students on Friday, April 29, 2022.

The awards “recognize outstanding journalism as practiced by the state’s daily newspapers,” according to the TAME website. The works, all published to TCU 360, competed in the 1A division against professional newspapers such as the Denton Record-Chronicle, the Baytown Sun and the San Marcos Daily Record.

During the first day of the association’s annual convention, held this year in Irving, the board members visited the Student Media newsroom to talk with journalism students.

Here are the winning entries:

Feature Writing

Third place – Haeven Gibbons for Grains to grocery: One bread maker brings together farmers and artisans at locally-sourced store

Honorable Mention – Katherine Lester for Students debut performances of drag personas as part of unique new course

Specialty Reporting

Honorable Mention – Kyla Vogel’s TCU Housing Crunch series:


First place – Haeven Gibbons for Fort Worth’s first community fridge program helps serve vulnerable neighborhoods

Second place – The spring 2021 Reporting students for Timeline of traditions

Star Online Package of the Year

Third place – Haeven Gibbons and Lonyae Coulter for Welcome TCU Class of 2025

Celeste Williams Star Sportswriter of the Year

Second place – Colin Post for his collection of work